DW Extravaganza: Listen Teaser Trailer

phototardis

photo 3 (2)

photo 2 (3)

photo 1 (3)I was inspired to create this picture when I saw the Doctor Who series 8 Listen teaser trailer. At first I started to sketch it as a side on TARDIS view but my mind has a bit of difficulty with angles and proportions and I was finding it quite tricky getting the figures in the correct size compared to the TARDIS. Because I love to see things at different angles I decided to try a top down view instead which gave another tricky problem of figuring out how to foreshorten the Doctor and I so we are looking straight up out of the picture. Peter’s head came out a bit large but I like the effect that the foreshortening works on both figures when you rotate the picture.

Rather than a flat picture on a gallery wall I like to bring the viewers of my art into the 3D bubble encasing the picture, I like to break the fourth wall and reach out towards the viewer, a bit like my cartoon self is doing my YouTube videos. That’s because I love drawing faces.

I like the bright and colourful effect of my marker pictures and they are quick to create. I think I want to practice my fine art skills on painted and pastel portraits and also have the immediacy of creating my cartoon style.

Leave a Reply

