Yay!!…..Oh. The December 2011 Glossy Box For Women

This is my third Glossy Box so far and I started off with the element of surprise but I did look at spoilers this month and got rather excited when I saw on the Glossy Blog,  the Blink + Go Eyeshadow/Blush palette in the bright colours. I hoped and sent my wishes, in a Noel Edmonds endorsed cosmic ordering style, to the masters of beauty product distribution that I would get the palette of eye candy delight. I opened my Glossy Box today and rather quickly deflated to find I’d been given what in my eyes seems like a  plain, old, boring mascara. Of course it’s as nice a product as anything you could want but after getting my hopes up about flaunting my rainbow eyes I was overcome with disapointment. A surprise every month is very much appreciated but in the traditon of a bit o’ Bully, I am rather more upset (in a vague harrumph way rather than a whole house ripping meltdown way, I do have some perspective)  about the bright colours that I coulda won than excited about what I actually did get. A speedboat is nothing compared to eyeshadows and blush. So, on with my review.

The Box:- This month the box is a bright shiny Christmassy red with winter white tissue wrapping and shreddy thingymabobs. I did see that the European boxes had green tissue which I find much more appealing.

The Products That I Shall Use

Rituals Fujiyama Foaming Shower Gel in Mandarin and Mint:- I have not come across this concept before so shall be interested to see how it works though I am thinking that I may be tempted to regress to my childhood bath game of acquiring a voluptous foamy beard and carefully shaving it off.

Deborah Lippman Razzle Dazzle Mini Nail Varnish with Stripped to Go Sachet:- This is a gorgeous sparkly deep jammy red which is perfect for the festive season. Another concept I haven’t seen before is the lavender nail lacquer remover finger mitts, I shall be interested to see how effective this is.

Products That I Doubt I Shall Use

Cargo Cosmetics Classic Lip Gloss:- A pretty pink colour but I would have preferred a product from their Botanical range

MeMeMe Seventh Heaven:- A facebase packed with artficial ingredients and preservatives

Blink + Go Hi-Definition Mascara:- A wastefully packaged mascara with a standard applicator that just seems dull compared to pretty eyeshadows.

Product Options That I Would Have Preferred

Jurlique ultra firm and lift cream:- One of the more natural brands that I would love to try and firming is always a good thing.

Blink + Go Eye Shadow/Blush Palette in the bright shades:- Look at the pretty!!! Waaaaahhhh!!!!

My overall verdict for this month’s Glossy Box is that it gives some sparkly delight with the nail lacquer but plenty of disapointment with the lack of pretty colours. If however I had received the brights palette then this would have been a more favourable review. I would say that of all the beauty boxes I get, that I have been the most disapointed with Glossy Box for Women, I am much more interested in getting what is given out in the European Glossy Box.

Again this is a sensory overload avoiding way of getting beauty products but rather a hit and miss way of getting things you actually want, it is pretty good value if you are not overly fussy.

Glossy Box is £10 + P&P for one beauty box a month. More information can be found at http://www.glossybox.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

